top of page
  • Writer's picturePauline Smit Reiki

Supporting grief through Reiki

We all experience grief at points in our life and we all respond differently to grief. However, counsellors and therapists often talk about the stages of grief which were proposed by psychiatrist Elisabeth Kübler-Ross in 1969. A series of emotional stages that we go through when grieving the prospect of our own death or the loss of a loved one.

Through Reiki we can support and assist you throughout the various stages of grief. Here are the stages of grief with an explanation of how we can support each stage through Reiki:

1. Denial: During the stage of denial, Reiki can help you become more present and grounded. Reiki sessions promote relaxation and a sense of inner calm, allowing you to release resistance and begin to acknowledge and accept the reality of your loss.

2. Anger: Reiki can help you process and release anger in a safe and non-judgmental space. The energy flow during a Reiki treatment can help dissipate pent-up emotions, providing a sense of relief and allowing you to move through your anger with greater ease.

3. Bargaining: Reiki can support you in finding acceptance and surrendering to the present moment. By creating a space of deep relaxation, Reiki helps you let go of the need to control or change the outcome and encourages you to find peace in the midst of your grief.

4. Depression: Reiki sessions can provide comfort and solace during the stage of depression. The gentle space and energy flow can help alleviate feelings of sadness and bring about a sense of emotional and energetic balance. Reiki can also support you in reconnecting with your inner strength and finding a glimmer of hope amidst the darkness.

5. Acceptance: Reiki promotes a sense of acceptance and inner peace by fostering a connection to your inner wisdom and spiritual nature. Receiving Reiki can help you develop a deeper understanding of the natural ebb and flow of life, allowing you to embrace the new reality and find meaning in your journey of healing and growth.

Overall, Reiki can provide a supportive and nurturing environment for you to process your grief, release emotional blockages, and restore a sense of balance. It acts as a complementary tool that can facilitate emotional healing, relaxation, and self-reflection, ultimately assisting you in navigating your unique grief journey with more ease and resilience.

18 views0 comments


bottom of page